Tuesday, April 24, 2018

CONGRATULATIONS! Debbie Lesko Wins Arizona Special Election

VICTORY: Both AP and The New York Times have called the Arizona Special Election. Former State Sen. Debbie Lesko is now U.S. Representative-elect. She replaces Trent Franks (R) who resigned.
Former Republican state Sen. Debbie Lesko won the special election in Arizona’s 8th District on Tuesday night. 
She defeated Hiral Tiprineni, a former emergency room physician, who raised $740,000 through the first quarter, surpassing Lesko’s haul of $564,000. 
The Democratic National Committee invested $175,000 and the liberal Working Families Party also spent $100,000 to help Tipirneni.
Throughout the campaign, the former state legislator stressed her support for Trump’s immigration policies, including building a wall on the Southern border. 
She also touted her support for the GOP tax overhaul. Lesko was first elected to the Arizona state House in 2008, later moving to the state Senate in 2014. 
She served as the Senate president pro tempore until she resigned from the chamber in January to focus on her congressional bid.
She becomes the only second Republican woman elected to Congress from Arizona.