Thursday, August 25, 2016

League of Arizona Cities and Towns Recognizes 12 House Democrats

STATE CAPITOL, PHOENIX The League of Arizona Cities and Towns honored 12 House Democrats for their dedication to and support of cities and towns during the 2016 legislative session.

“Cooperation between the state and cities and towns keeps our communities safe and strong,” House Democratic Leader Eric Meyer, D-Paradise Valley (District 28), said. “These awards remind us that we are partners in serving our communities and that Arizonans are best served when every level of government works together. My colleagues and I appreciate this recognition from the League, and we look forward to our continued close relationship.”

Three House Democrats were recognized as Champions of Cities and Towns:
·         Rep. Randall Friese, D-Tucson (District 9)
·         House Democratic Leader Eric Meyer, D-Paradise Valley (District 28)
·         House Democratic Whip Rebecca Rios, D-Phoenix (District 27)

Nine additional legislators received Certificates of Appreciation:
·         Rep. Lela Alston, D-Phoenix (District 24)
·         Rep. Mark Cardenas, D-Phoenix (District 19)
·         Rep. Diego Espinoza, D-Tolleson (District 19)
·         Rep. Charlene Fernandez, D-Yuma (District 4)
·         Rep. Matt Kopec, D-Tucson (District 9)
·         Rep. Jonathan Larkin, D-Glendale (District 30)
·         Rep. Debbie McCune Davis, D-Phoenix (District 30)
·         Rep. Lisa Otondo, D-Yuma (District 4)
·         House Assistant Democratic Leader Bruce Wheeler, D-Tucson (District 10)

“I want to thank these legislators for their courageous votes in support of local decision making,” League of Arizona Cities and Towns Executive Director Ken Strobeck said. “They are helping Arizona cities and towns be able to serve their residents effectively while respecting local community values.”

The League presented these awards on Aug. 25 during its 2016 Annual Conference, held in Scottsdale this year. The conference is a three-day event from Aug. 24-26, with hundreds of officials from across the state. For more information about the League of Arizona Cities and Towns, visit