Tuesday, February 2, 2016

Iowa Caucus Is Over and It's On to New Hampshire Where It's a Real Primary

'Iowa picks corn, New Hampshire picks presidents.' On to the Granite State! quote stolen from Brahm Resnik
It's on to New Hampshire where it's a real primary and the vote means delagates at the party convention for the candidate.
So Cruz wins Iowa-not since 2000 has a Republican who won Iowa went on to win the Republican nomination and then to win the presidency. That was George W. Bush-Ronald Reagan was Iowa caucus loser.

Millions of dollars and much to do about the Iowa Caucus which is not a primary. In fact it’s not even an election.

The caucuses, are official party meetings across the state’s nearly 1,700 precincts. Where neighbors meet in high school gymnasiums, suburban libraries, and living rooms, Iowa voters express their candidate preference among their peers. Sometimes they’ll submit their choices on pieces of paper. In other instances, they’ll walk to corners of a room that represent their candidate.

It’s equivalent to a neighborhood house party where everyone is discussing a candidate and why they like that candidate.

They don’t have to be registered voter of either party before caucus they can register at the caucus site.
The process of selecting Iowa delegates to the Republican National Convention prior to the 2016 election cycle started with selection of delegates to the county conventions, which in turn affected the delegates elected to district conventions who also served as delegates to the state convention where delegates were chosen for the national convention.
This process rewarded candidate organizers who not only got supporters to the caucus sites but also got supporters willing to serve as delegates to county conventions and willing to vote for other delegates who supported a specific candidate. In 2012, this process resulted in Ron Paul supporters dominating the Iowa delegation to the Republican National Convention, having 22 of the 28 Iowa delegates, with Mitt Romney getting the other six delegates.
Because the delegates elected at the caucuses did not need to declare a candidate preference, the media did not have an objective way to determine the success of individual candidates at the caucuses. The media focused on the secret ballot polling conducted at the caucus sites and have generally referred to this non-binding poll as the caucus. There were irregularities in the 2012 caucus site polling results, including the fact that eight precinct results went missing and were never counted.
Because of the irregularities in the process and the fact that the totals reported to the media were unrelated to the delegate selection process, there have been changes in both how the caucus site secret ballot polling is sent to state party headquarters and in how Iowa delegates to the national convention are required to vote.
Starting in 2016, caucus results have become binding when selecting delegates.[11] Acting in accordance with a mandate from the Republican National Committee, the delegates are bound on the first ballot to vote for candidates in proportion to the votes cast for each candidate at the caucus sites.[12]
2000 (January 24): George W. Bush (41%) Became PresidentSteve Forbes (31%), Alan Keyes (14%), Gary Bauer (9%), John McCain (5%), and Orrin Hatch (1%)
2004 (January 19): George W. Bush (unopposed) Became President
2008 (January 3): Mike Huckabee (34%), Mitt Romney (25%), Fred Thompson (13%), John McCain (13%) won nomination lost PresidencyRon Paul (10%),Rudy Giuliani (4%), and Duncan Hunter (1%)
2012 (January 3): Rick Santorum (25%), Mitt Romney (25%) won nomination lost presidency, Ron Paul (21%), Newt Gingrich (13%), Rick Perry (10%), Michele Bachmann (5%), and Jon Huntsman (0.6%)[21]
2016 (February 1): Ted Cruz (27.7%), Donald Trump (24.3%), Marco Rubio (23.1%), Ben Carson (9.3%), Rand Paul (4.5%), Jeb Bush (2.8%) [26]
The number of delegates each candidate receives eventually determines how many state delegates from Iowa that candidate will have at the Democratic National Convention. Iowa sends 56 delegates to the DNC out of a total 4,366.
Of the 45 delegates that were chosen through the caucus system, 29 were chosen at the district level. Ten delegates were at-large delegates, and six were "party leader and elected official" (PLEO) delegates; these were assigned at the state convention. There were also 11 other delegates, eight of whom were appointed from local Democratic National Committee members - two were PLEO delegates and one was elected at the state Democratic convention.
In 2014, the Iowa Democratic Party announced changes to the caucus system that will allow members of the military to participate in a statewide caucus and establish satellite caucuses for the disabled and others who have trouble making it to the physical location of the caucuses. They will also work for the passage of a new law that requires employers to allow employees to take time off for the caucuses.[14]

2000 (January 24): Al Gore (63%) and Bill Bradley (37%)
2004 (January 19): John Kerry (38%), John Edwards (32%), Howard Dean (18%), Dick Gephardt (11%), and Dennis Kucinich(1%)
2008 (January 3): Barack Obama (38%), John Edwards (30%), Hillary Clinton (29%), Bill Richardson (2%), Joe Biden(1%)[25]
2012 (January 3): Barack Obama (98%), "Uncommitted" (2%)[19]
2016 (February 1): Hillary Clinton (49.9%), Bernie Sanders (49.5%), Martin O'Malley (0.6%)

Note: Candidates in bold eventually won their party's nomination. Candidates also in italics subsequently won the general election.