Wednesday, September 2, 2015

The Iran Deal Whip Count: Where Does Your Senator Stand?

Image result for us capital
Congress is slated to vote in early September on a 'Resolution of Disapproval' related to the Iran nuclear deal, a level of oversight put into place when Congress passed the Iran Nuclear Agreement Review Act in May.
The Resolution of Disapproval, if signed into law, would permanently prevent the president from waiving or suspending the congressional sanctions put in place against Iran, which could scuttle the deal negotiated by the P5+1 countries in Vienna. But President Barack Obama has the ability to veto the resolution, something he has said he would do if the measure makes it to his desk for his signature.
On September 2, Sen. Barbara Mikulski of Maryland became the 34th Senate Democrat to announce support for the Iran deal, ensuring that the Senate will not be able to overturn Obama's veto. If 41 Senators vote in support of the deal, it could kill a Resolution of Disapproval altogether.Here's what we know about where senators stand.

Support (Total: 34)
·     Sherrod Brown, D-OH
·     Tom Carper, D-DE
·     Bob Casey, D-PA
·     Chris Coons, D-DE
·     Joe Donnelly, D-IN
·     Dick Durbin, D-IL
·     Al Franken, D-MN
·     Mazie Hirono, D-HI
·     Tim Kaine, D-VA
·     Angus King, I-ME
·     Ed Markey, D-MA
·     Claire McCaskill, D-MO
·     Jeff Merkley, D-OR
·     Barbara Mikulski, D-MD
·     Chris Murphy, D-CT
·     Patty Murray, D-WA
·     Bill Nelson, D-FL
·     Jack Reed, D-RI
·     Harry Reid, D-NV
·     Brian Schatz, D-HI
·     Debbie Stabenow, D-MI
·     Jon Tester, D-MT
·     Tom Udall, D-NM
Oppose (Total: 33)
·     Kelly Ayotte, R-NH
·     John Barrasso, R-WY
·     Roy Blunt, R-MO
·     John Boozman, R-AR
·     Richard Burr, R-NC
·     Dan Coats, R-IN
·     Bob Corker, R-TN
·     John Cornyn, R-TX
·     Tom Cotton, R-AR
·     Ted Cruz, R-TX
·     Steve Daines, R-MT
·     Joni Ernst, R-IA
·     Jeff Flake, R-AZ
·     Jim Inhofe, R-OK
·     Mark Kirk, R-IL
·     John McCain, R-AZ
·     Mitch McConnell, R-KY
·     Bob Menendez, D-NJ
·     Jerry Moran, R-KS
·     Rand Paul, R-KY
·     David Perdue, R-GA
·     Jim Risch, R-ID
·     Marco Rubio, R-FL
·     Ben Sasse, R-NE
·     Tim Scott, R-SC
·     Dan Sullivan, R-AK
·     John Thune, R-SD
·     Thom Tillis, R-NC
·     Pat Toomey, R-PA
Undecided/Unannounced (Total: 33)

·     Lamar Alexander, R-TN
·     Michael Bennet, D-CO
·     Richard Blumenthal, D-CT
·     Cory Booker, D-NJ
·     Maria Cantwell, D-WA
·     Ben Cardin, D-MD
·     Bill Cassidy, R-LA
·     Thad Cochran, R-MS
·     Susan Collins, R-ME
·     Mike Crapo, R-ID
·     Mike Enzi, R-WY
·     Deb Fischer, R-NE
·     Cory Gardner, R-CO
·     Chuck Grassley, R-IA
·     Orrin Hatch, R-UT
·     Heidi Heitkamp, D-ND
·     Dean Heller, R-NV
·     John Hoeven, R-ND
·     Johnny Isakson, R-GA
·     Ron Johnson, R-WI
·     James Lankford, R-OK
·     Mike Lee, R-UT
·     Joe Manchin, D-WV
·     Shelly Moore Capito, R-WV
·     Lisa Murkowski, R-AK
·     Gary Peters, D-MI
·     Rob Portman, R-OH
·     Pat Roberts, R-KS
·     Mike Rounds, R-SD
·     Jeff Sessions, R-AL
·     Mark Warner, D-VA
·     Roger Wicker, R-MS
·     Ron Wyden, D-OR

No comments:

Post a Comment

Comments are moderated, and will appear after approval..Anonymous comments will not be approved.